National History Day 2021: Communication in History: Global History Databases

World history research. Primary and secondary sources from references, periodicals, and multimedia. Go to BROWSE TOPICS to explore popular historical topics.

This collection of primary sources focuses on apartheid in South Africa, and contains thousands of translated news broadcasts and publications, written by both the people who experienced it and those around the world who watched, reacted to and analyzed it.

The Cold War was a force in global politics from the end of WWII to 1990. These primary source documents from around the world shed light on this crucial time in world history.

Includes primary and secondary sources that provide insight into the social history of ancient societies. This includes the ancient Egyptians, Australian Aborigines, all the way to 21st-century China. Focus on religion, language, art, food and cooking, clothing, housing, and social customs of 64 cultures.

This database offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issues and country portals that bring together a variety of highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal.

Covers immigration around the world including post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States and much more.

Primary sources provide analysis of important issues and historic events in North Africa and the Middle East. Search by keyword or selected searches.

Covers ten 20th century and current genocides in depth. Contains authoritative content including over 300 primary sources, and focuses on human and civil rights.