LibGuides: American Government: Policy Research: Databases

Using Databases for Research

Databases are research tools that contain digitized information from encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines, journals and other credible sources. Bullis School Library subscribes to many databases to give students access to reliable information. With databases, you can:

Search by keywords
Improve searches with built in tools
Get citations
Save time by accessing reliable sources

**To access databases off-campus, use the login and password provided to you in class, or email the librarian.

All Databases at Bullis Library

ALL BULLIS LIBRARY DATABASES
Access the full list of databases to which Bullis Library subscribes.

Databases

American Government This link opens in a new window
The database includes more than 13,000 primary and secondary sources, including images, biographies, maps, and audio-video recordings all focused on American government and its foundations.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This database provides sources that represent different perspectives on controversial topics, including many topics that policymakers debate. Do a keyword search or browse the box on the home page listing LAW AND POLITICS topics.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Use this database to get historical background on legislative issues. Do keyword searches, or click on BROWSE TOPICS to see a list of topic pages of commonly research subjects.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This database contains articles from four national American newspapers: New York Times, Wall St. Journal, Washingon Post, Christian Science Monitor. Newspaper articles summarize issues succinctly.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from American newspapers published between1690 - 2000. The database covers a range of topics related to U.S. history. Search by keyword or use the directory to locate significant eras in American history and its related newspaper articles.