LibGuides: Women's History Month: Research: Databases

Using Databases for Research

Databases are research tools that contain digitized information from encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines, journals and other credible sources. Bullis School Library subscribes to many databases to give students access to reliable information. With databases, you can:

Search by keywords
Improve searches with built in tools
Get citations
Save time by accessing reliable sources

**To access databases off-campus, use the login and password provided to you in class, or email the librarian.

Databases

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from American newspapers published between1690 - 2000. The database covers a range of topics related to U.S. history. Search by keyword or use the directory to locate significant eras in American history and its related newspaper articles.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
This database of biographical information covers over 340,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It contains articles from reference sources, magazines and journals, as well as photos, audio, and video clips on individuals.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic is an online encyclopedia that has articles, photographs, illustrations, sound files, and videos on every subject. Suggested web sites are selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.Click on the biographies section for in-depth coverage of a range of individuals.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present. Access articles covering themes, events, individuals, and periods. Try BROWSE TOPICS to see popular American history topics. Click on the biographies section for in-depth coverage of a range of individuals.

All Databases at Bullis Library

ALL BULLIS LIBRARY DATABASES
Access the full list of databases to which Bullis Library subscribes.

Primary Sources Reference Book

Defining Documents in World History: Women's Rights (1429-2017)

Women’s Rights offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that make up the story of women’s struggles to achieve basic rights and full legal standing, the right to vote, the right to make their own decisions and the right to achieve dignity and equity.

This book is located in the database, Salem Press. Use the database login information if you are trying to access it off-campus.