Databases - United States History - Thematic

Databases for Research

This guide has sources that will help you pinpoint information for your extension projects. Consider these strateies:

Find reference articles in either Britannica, SEEK, or U.S. History in Context to get an introduction to your topic.
Look for newspaper articles from the time period to get a sense of how your topic was understood at the time. These are primary sources.
Use the suggested websites to find primary sources. I would recommend doing a site:.gov search about your topic.
Use the databases under the IMAGES tab to find visuals.

**To access databases off-campus, use the login and password provided to you in class, or email the librarian.

ALL BULLIS LIBRARY DATABASES
Access the full list of databases to which Bullis Library subscribes.

African American Experience
African American history and its major movements—political, social, artistic, and literary.Features articles and essays that give voice to the experience of African Americans from their arrival in the Americas to the present day. 8,000 primary and secondary sources, including overview essays, slave narratives, speeches, court cases, and quotations.
U.S. History in Context
This database provides access to historical documents, articles, and full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals, and periods in U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present.

Academic Search Premier
Search for articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers from virtually every area of academic study. Articles come from more than 8,500 journals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Britannica Academic
Britannica Academic is an online encyclopedia that has articles, photographs, illustrations, sound files, and videos on every subject. Suggested web sites are selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.Click on the biographies section for in-depth coverage of a range of individuals.
Daily Life Through History
Includes primary and secondary sources that provide insight into the social history of ancient societies. This includes the ancient Egyptians, Australian Aborigines, all the way to 21st-century China. Focus on religion, language, art, food and cooking, clothing, housing, and social customs of 64 cultures.
Explora Secondary Schools
Designed for Upper School students, this database offers news articles on a wide range of topics such as technology, literature, science. health, current events, politics, art, history, sports, business, general interest and much more.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an archive of academic journal articles, current to within 2 to 5 years. It covers a variety of disciplines, from the arts to the sciences.

America's Historical Newspapers
Newspaper articles from American newspapers published between1690 - 2000. The database covers a range of topics related to U.S. history. Search by keyword or use the directory to locate significant eras in American history and its related newspaper articles.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Historical newspaper articles from the following: New York Times (1851-2013), Washington Post (1877-1999), Baltimore Sun (1837-1991), The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1999). For recent articles from these newspapers, ask a Bullis librarian.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper articles from hundreds of U.S., international, and regional sources. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks (CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more).