LibGuides: Intensive English: Research: Databases

Using Databases for Research

Databases are research tools that contain digitized information from encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines, journals and other credible sources. Bullis School Library subscribes to many databases to give students access to reliable information. With databases, you can:

Search by keywords
Improve searches with built in tools
Get citations
Save time by accessing reliable sources

**To access databases off-campus, use the login and password provided to you in class, or email the librarian.

All Databases at Bullis Library

ALL BULLIS LIBRARY DATABASES
Access the full list of databases to which Bullis Library subscribes.

Suggested Databases

Global Issues in Context
This database offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global events. Under BROWSE ISSUES, find the GLOBAL WARMING topic page to review all the articles from different types of sources related to the issue.
Science in Context
This database focuses on popular science topics. Information sources derive from science-based sources. Look for topic pages under BROWSE TOPICS.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
A complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Click on BROWSE ISSUES to find viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Keyword Searching

As you brainstorm about your topic, make a short list of nouns that relate to your subject. These are the keywords you will use to search for information from the databases. Use the following terms in combination with your keywords to improve your research results:

Use quotation marks around keywords that are phrases
- "global warming"
AND combines two keywords to narrow search results
- "climate change" AND hurricanes
OR combines two similar concepts to broaden search results. Separate phrase with PARENTHESES
- ("global warming" OR "climate change")
NOT excludes records containing the second keyword
- drones NOT bees
Use truncation (*) to expand a keyword search to anything with the word stem
- scien* --> science, scientific, scientists