LibGuides: Contemporary Global Issues: Research: Databases

Using Databases for Research

Find sources from databases that contain different focuses - American, global, multidisciplinary. Be sure to select a variety of sources so that your research reflects the many voices involved in the discourse related to your topic.

Start by searching for reference articles to understand the concepts in your topic.
Research magazines and newspapers for popular perspectives.
Non-profit organizations' websites to learn how groups are addressing problems.
Government websites to see policies, legislation, or public debate about an issue.
Look for scholarly opinions and statistics in journal articles.
Find images, video, and audio for first-hand perspectives.
In all databases:

Search by keywords
Improve searches with built in tools
Get citations

**To access databases off-campus, use the login and password provided to you in class, or email the librarian.

Multimedia Databases

Britannica Image Quest
A collection of images that are all licensed for use by the Bullis community for online and multimedia projects.

Globally-Focused Databases

Global Issues in Context
This database offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issues and country portals that bring together a variety of highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Social issues and controversial topics are covered from multiple perspectives. The database includes topic overviews with viewpoint articles, periodical articles, primary sources, statistics, images, videos, audio, and links to vetted websites.
Academic Search Premier
Search for articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers from virtually every area of academic study. Articles come from more than 8,500 journals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles.
World History in Context
World history research. Primary and secondary sources from references, periodicals, and multimedia. Go to BROWSE TOPICS to explore popular historical topics.
Country Watch Suite
CountryWatch provides country information, maps, news, and forecasts on nations around the globe. Each COUNTRY REVIEW includes demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information, as well as CountryWireTM, which provides daily news coverage for every country in the world.

Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Source
Newspaper articles from hundreds of U.S., international, and regional sources. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks (CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more).

General Encyclopedia Databases

World Book Student
A general encyclopedia that contains numerous tools to engage users. Topics are supported by images, audio, and websites to expand comprehension.
Britannica Academic
Britannica Academic is an online encyclopedia that has articles, photographs, illustrations, sound files, and videos on every subject. Suggested web sites are selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.Click on the biographies section for in-depth coverage of a range of individuals.

All Databases at Bullis Library

ALL BULLIS LIBRARY DATABASES
Access the full list of databases to which Bullis Library subscribes.