LibGuides: English II : Brave New World Cornerstone Project: Databases

Using Databases for Research

Explore these databases to find digitized articles from authoritative magazines, journals, newspapers, and books.

To access databases off-campus, use the login and password provided to you in class, or email the librarian.

Britannica Image

Britannica Image Quest
A collection of images that are all licensed for use by the Bullis community for online and multimedia projects.

Keyword Searching

Make a short list of keywords you will use to search for information from the databases. Use the following terms in combination with your keywords to improve your research results:

Use quotation marks around keywords that are phrases
- "brave new world"
AND combines two keywords to narrow search results
- "brave new world" AND technology
Use truncation (*) to expand a keyword search to anything with the word stem
- tech* --> technical, technology, technocrat

All Databases at Bullis Library

ALL BULLIS LIBRARY DATABASES
Access the full list of databases to which Bullis Library subscribes.

Biography in Context

Biography in Context
For Choice #1, you must choose an individual and do biographical research on them. Use this biography database to find different types of articles about your person. I would suggest a BIOGRAPHIES essay, a MAGAZINE article, and a NEWS article. Images and audio in this database are also great sources. When citing BIOGRAPHIES articles, cite them as a reference source.

Britannica Academic

Britannica Academic
Britannica Academic is an online encyclopedia that has articles, photographs, illustrations, sound files, and videos on every subject. Suggested web sites are selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.Click on the biographies section for in-depth coverage of a range of individuals. Use this database to research people, technologies, and ideas for any of the three Choices. All articles in this database should be cited as REFERENCE SOURCES.

World Book Student

World Book Student
A general encyclopedia that contains numerous tools to engage users. Topics are supported by images, audio, and websites to expand comprehension.

Science in Context

Science in Context
This database gives contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Articles come from magazines, academic journals, and news articles. It also contains experiments, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experiences. Use the database to help you research different scientific or technological advances that would benefit Central London.

Academic Search Elite

Academic Search Premier
This is a large, multidisciplinary database, and a best bet for finding information on most research topics. Use this article to explore "Brave New World" (Remember to include the quotation marks) and articles that discuss Huxley's vision (huxley AND "brave new world"). Cite your articles based on what it is - MAGAZINE, NEWSPAPER, ACADEMIC JOURNAL. Click on FULL TEXT to make sure you get the entire article.