LibGuides: Human Geography: Ambassador Project: Databases

Using Databases for Research

A database is a research tool that the library subscribes to in order to make finding credible information easier. Databases contain digitized information from encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines, journals and other credible sources.

Search a database by keyword and take advantage of built in tools to help you get exactly what you need.

*To access databases, use Google sign-in and your Bullis e-mail.

All Databases at Bullis Library

ALL BULLIS LIBRARY DATABASES
Access the full list of databases to which Bullis Library subscribes.

Databases

Country Watch Suite
CountryWatch is a REFERENCE database providing country information, news, and forecasts on 195 nations. Under Country Reviews, find your country in the drop down menu on the left. For this assignment, get your political map as well as other country details under Country details. Copy and paste the citation below into NoodleTools.

To cite information from CountryWatch, copy and paste the following, changing the sections in red to your 1) country and 2) URL of your country review:

Youngblood-Coleman, Denise. "Country Review:Nicaragua." In CountryWatch. N.p.,
2020. http://www.countrywatch.com/Intelligence/CountryReviews?CountryId=126.

Global Issues in Context
This database features country portals that bring together a variety of highly relevant sources for analysis about a nation. Get reference information, newspaper articles, and maps of your country. Use the CITATION TOOL to help you get the components of your citation for NoodleTools.
Britannica Academic
The information in this database come from a single general information encyclopedia. Type your country in the search box to get a country profile, including maps, flags, and statistics. Citations can be found at the bottom of the article.
World Book Student
A general encyclopedia that contains numerous tools to engage users. Topics are supported by images, audio, and websites to expand comprehension.
Newspaper Source
This media database includes current articles from newspapers and major networks. Do a keyword search of your country and topic to find relevant information (Example: JAMAICA AND "CLIMATE CHANGE").
World History in Context
World history research. Primary and secondary sources from references, periodicals, and multimedia. Go to BROWSE TOPICS to explore popular historical topics.
World Book Timelines
Timelines for projects in history, geography, arts, literature, notable people, science & technology, and more. Users can select a built timeline and customize, or create new timelines.
America's Historical Newspapers
Newspaper articles from American newspapers published between1690 - 2000. The database covers a range of topics related to U.S. history. Search by keyword or use the directory to locate significant eras in American history and its related newspaper articles.