LibGuides: French IV: Un Pays Francophone en Afrique: DATABASES

Database Strategies for this Project

For this project, start to get to know your country and identify an issue related to it through database information. The articles are all authoritative, derived from encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines, journals and other credible sources. DATABASE ARTICLES ARE IN ENGLISH.

Start by finding an encyclopedia entry about your country.
Look at the newspaper articles related to your country and see what is trending.
List words in English that relate to this subject.
Translate this KEYWORD list into French and use them to find French information through the internet.

**To access databases off-campus, use the login and password provided to you in class, or email the librarian.

All Databases at Bullis Library

ALL BULLIS LIBRARY DATABASES
Access the full list of databases to which Bullis Library subscribes.

Global Issues in Context

Global Issues in Context
Since this database focuses on global issues, start by typing your country's name and accessing its topic page. Look under REFERENCE to get overview information. Look under NEWS to see what issues are trending in your topic. You can export the MLA citation into NoodleTools from this database.

Country Watch

Country Watch Suite
CountryWatch is a REFERENCE database providing country information, news, and forecasts on 195 nations. Under Country Reviews, find your country in the drop down menu on the left. You can find more overview information about your nation, as well as NEWSPAPER articles under COUNTRY WIRE

To cite information from CountryWatch, copy and paste the following, changing the sections in red to your 1) country and 2) URL of your country review:

Youngblood-Coleman, Denise. “Country Review: France.” CountryWatch.com,CountryWatch.com, 2016, http://www.countrywatch.com/Intelligence/CWTopic?Type=text&CountryID=61&Topic=POPCO

Britannica Academic

Britannica Academic
Look up your nation and retrieve a REFERENCE article about it. Within your article, you will find images, statistics, and facts that you can include in your PowerPoint presentation.

Britannica Image Quest

Britannica Image Quest
A collection of images that are all licensed for use by the Bullis community for online and multimedia projects.

Keyword Searching

As you brainstorm about your topic, make a short list of nouns that relate to your subject. These are the keywords you will use to search for information from the databases and the internet. Combine the following punctuation with your keywords to improve your research results:

Use quotation marks ("") around keywords that are phrases
- "conflict minerals"
AND combines two keywords to narrow search results
- "democratic republic of the congo" AND mining
Use truncation (*) to expand a keyword search to anything with the word stem
- scien* --> science, scientific, scientists